Round 1 of the Billabong Pro Mundaka has been called ON this morning with clean three-to-four foot (1 – 1.5 metre) waves on offer at the world-class lefthander.
Event No. 8 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Mundaka will be activating the new competition format, featuring man-on-man elimination heats from the outset, with Round 1 commencing at 9:15am. So if you are out in Round One you are out of the contest!

Joel Parkinson is current World Number 1 and going for his first world title but he is being hotly persued by Mick Fanning, Cj Hobgood, Bede Burbidge and Kelly Slater.
“We've got some really fun, consistent three-foot surf here this morning at Mundaka and we'll be starting at 9:15am,” Mike Parsons, Billabong Pro Mundaka Contest Director, said. “We'll be running the new format and we're monitoring conditions right now to determine if it's worth running dual-heat format.”

We at are cheering for the Europeans, especially local boy Aritz Arinburu from Zarautz, and Ericeira hero Tiago Pires. European riders in bold.

Below is the Match ups for Round 1:
Heat 1: Roy Powers (HAW) vs. Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 2: Tim Boal (FRA) vs. David Weare (ZAF)
Heat 3: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 4: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)
Heat 5: Ben Dunn (AUS) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)
Heat 6: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Hodei Collazo (EUK)
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Damien Fahrenfort (ZAF)
Heat 8: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Reubyn Ash (GBR)
Heat 9: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Dean Bowen (AUS)
Heat 10: Mick Campbell (AUS) vs. Marcos San Segundo (EUK)
Heat 11: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Nathaniel Curran (USA)
Heat 12: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Michael Picon (FRA)
Heat 13: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 14: Dustin Barca (HAW) vs. Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 15: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 16: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Greg Emslie (ZAF)
Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 2: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 3: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBA
Heat 4: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 6: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 7: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 10: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBA
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBA
Heat 12: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 14: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 15: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 16: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. TBA
Here's a clip from last years awesome final - CJ Hobgood v Joel Parkinson: